Classic Zinnia

zinnia

I Have been lusting over the Zinnia Skirt Pattern from Colette for the longest time, I featured it in my ultimate pattern wishlist post, well I just so happened that March was Zinnia Month ! It was on sale for 20% off on their website so I decided it was the perfect time to snatch it up! I opted for the PDF download and ordered my fabric right away.

I knew that I wanted to make version 1 ,  below the knee, button front with patch pockets and gathers. I don’t usually like dealing with gathers but I loved this version so much I had to try it. It was also a no brainier that this skirt would be Black since I really wanted a classic and versatile staple in my wardrobe.  I feel like I should mention the fact that I have been sewing for over 4 years and I have never made an all black garment ! I am always attracted to colors or prints that are unique and interesting. But for this pattern I knew I had to keep it simple and let the details shine.

I made a size 6  based on my waist measurement, and no alterations to the pattern , the only thing I did differently from the instructions was that I flat felled my side seams for a really clean and durable seam.  I’m so glad I followed the tip of sewing three lines of basting to create the gathers, it really helped me have more control and resulted in neater gathers.

DSC_0312

Fabric

Kaufman Brussels washer linen from Fabric.com

DSC_0300

so in love with the pockets!

DSC_0302

The buttons are antique brass from M&J trimming. I love living in New York and having access to awesome shops!

DSC_0308

I cannot recommend this pattern enough, It came together really well, the instructions are always excellent from Colette patterns. I ‘m not sure if I’ve ever loved a garment I’ve made this much. I can already see myself wearing it in the fall with tights and booties… Version 2 of this skirt is going to be In a Burgundy Georgette!!

As a bonus I thought I would mention that I also made the tank top I paired with this skirt. It was made a couple years ago using a basic bodice sloper that I drafted with the help of YouTube! Here are a few shots without the sweater.

DSC_0304DSC_0306

As always thank you for reading!

xx – Tai

 

7 thoughts on “Classic Zinnia

  1. over on kings drive says:

    This is gooooorgeous and you look amazing! I bought Zinnia last month as well but haven’t got the right fabric for it yet and I’m not allowed to buy more for a while lol. As soon as I’ve de-stashed enough to earn some new fabric I’m definitely going to shamelessly copy yours 🙂. It’s fantastic!

    Love the tank top too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

