Wardrobe Architect

wardrobe architect

Last year I was introduced to the idea of building an ideal wardrobe. Creating versatile handmade items that were comfortable and that I loved to wear.It sounded like a dream! which is why I read with glee, each one of  the series of blog posts on the Colette blog .

They went in depth on how to begin, starting from defining your style ,your silhouettes,color palette, cleaning out your closet, identifying the holes in your wardrobe, finding the right patterns, to finally sewing your garments.This Month being me made may #MMM  I really wanted to participate, but quickly realized I did not have enough me made items for everyday wear that could carry me through a whole month. I have been sewing for years and I’ve made many items but It wasn’t until last year, through wardrobe architect that I realized I needed to start sewing more practically and with intention. I can’t wear a dress or skirt everyday! They still make up a large percentage of my handmade items, that was fine when I was a beginner because they were easy makes, but it’s time for a change.

I am going to use this month to plan some projects that are going to fill in the gaps I have in my me made Wardrobe.This is something that I have been slowly making progress on but still have a ways to go. A couple projects that really got me going in the right direction were my button down plaid shirt, Sutton blouse, kimono jacket, Hudson Pants, camel toggle coat,as well as my first pair of jeans. Pictured below are the toggle coat that I made using the Albion coat pattern and my high-waisted ginger jeans.

The ginger jeans pattern is amazing and it was so gratifying to complete them. Despite having some fit issues they still get plenty of wear and are more comfortable then my rtw jeans.I need to perfect the fit, making the necessary alterations to my pattern so that I can crank out multiple pairs! I will most likely do a pattern review while I’m at it. I will also be doing a series of posts following the process of my wardrobe architect experiment for the rest of this year.So far I know that I need to focus on making ..

  • pants/jeans
  • blouses
  • cardigans/sweaters
  • tank tops/t-shirts
  • bras/underwear

Sketching Is a huge part of my Planning process so I will try to share some of those as well! I will be filling my mood board with tons of ideas . Hopefully some of you will find the inspiration to start your own journey to a handmade wardrobe.

7 thoughts on “Wardrobe Architect

  1. atkokosplace says:

    Wow! How incredibly talented you are! And you’ve made jeans too! That in and of itself is amazing. I hope to find time this weekend to go through a bit of your blog. I have a feeling I will see more inspiration! 🙂 Have a lovely weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

