McCall’s 7325 : Pattern Review

DSC_6606

Hello !! I am at it again with another pattern review this week! So far I have been enjoying writing these posts , and now that I have a new tripod I can get some decent pictures of my makes, even when my  boyfriend photographer is busy…

Pattern Description

M7325_a

McCall’s 7325 is a fairly recent pattern that I came across while on Instagram admiring a blouse that one of my sew friends posted. It was an awesome, flowy, boho blouse that I knew I needed in my life! I found the pattern soon after and set a goal of making it before the summer was over. View B is the one that initially caught my eye ,but  I ended up sewing view A because of the amount fabric I had to work with.

 

Pattern Sizing

I sewed up an X-small based on my previous experience with McCall’s patterns. Because this is a loose fitting top I knew the extra ease would come into play and I didn’t want to be swimming in my top. The only area that felt a bit snug was the front yoke , I feel like it was meant to be a little looser so I will have to fix that next time around.

Fabric Used

I wouldn’t allow myself to purchase anymore fabric for this pattern, and searched my stash for something that I thought would work. I decided on a semi -sheer chiffon fabric that I purchased at Joann’s over two years ago. I thought the print would be perfect for this style. It’s a very light weight and flowy fabric so I used some black cotton to line my front and back yoke pieces to give them some stability. I even used the selvedge edge at the hem of the sleeves! I know it sounds terrible but It actually worked and I didn’t need to hem the sleeves.

Pattern Alterations or Design Changes Made

Since I was determined to make it work using the fabric I had, I ended up having to take out about 1.5 inches of fullness from the sleeves , and shortening them about 1/2 inch. I also decided to add a thread loop and button to the front neck slit.

 

Did It Look Like The Photos on the Pattern Envelope ?

Yes it did ,minus the pom pom trim that is on the illustration for view A .

Were the Instructions Easy to follow?

Yes! this is an easy pattern, so I had no trouble with it. I am also used to big four instructions which tend to be less detailed than most indie pattern companies. This pattern should be a great project for a  confident beginner.

What Did you Like/Dislike about the Pattern?

I love the front and back yoke design with the slit at the center front, the gathering at the waistline and the loose sleeves that have a slit on this view. I disliked that this blouse can look like a maternity top from a certain angle… but at least I have something I can use when that time comes! That won’t stop me from wearing it though, I’m still pleased with how it turned out.

Would You Sew it Again or Recommend it to others?

Yes! I do plan on making View B of this pattern, and possibly view D at some point.  I would definitely recommend this pattern to my fellow boho loving seamstresses !

DSC_6597

DSC_6602

DSC_6609

peep those selvedge edges??  I’m glad it just looks like a normal hemmed sleeve.

DSC_6610

 

 

I hope you enjoyed this post! and let me know if you have sewn this pattern, and what you think about it!

As always thanks for reading!

xx – Tai

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “McCall’s 7325 : Pattern Review

Leave a Reply

