Penguin Print Datura

 

DSC_6612

Hello! I am finally getting caught up on sharing my summer makes! I am more excited than ever for the fall though and im already planning my fall projects.

I made this blouse after having the pattern in my stash for about a year!

Pattern Description

Deer & Doe Datura Blouse

datura-blouse-pattern

The Datura Blouse blouse is a tank top with so many details that made me want to make one!. view A has an amazing cut out neckline design and view B has a peter pan collar. both versions feature a button up back!  I also loved the possibility for color blocking with this pattern. I made view B .

 

Pattern Sizing

I have sewn a pattern by Deer& Doe so I knew that their size 40 was the best fit for me. Luckily that part was pretty straight forward. No grading between sizes for once!

Fabric Used

When I saw the penguin print crepe de chine I immediately thought of an adorable blouse with a peter pan collar. I bought one yard because I knew i would be using the black crepe for the back yoke and collar. This fabric was lovely to work with and I couldn’t pass it up for the price. I purchased it from Fabric.com and  they still have it in stock!  I also had to use a bit of black linen to line the collar for more stability, I tried it only using the black crepe and it was a disaster .

Pattern Alterations or Design changes made.

The ony change I made was to make the back a faux button placket . I figured it didn’t need to be functional since It wasn’t nessecary to get the blouse on and off for me.I just sewed the plackets down and added the buttons. I also did french side seams instead of serging them.

 

Did it look like the Photos on the pattern when you were done?  

Yes it did exactly. I was very happy about it!

Were the Instructions Easy to Follow?

They were easy to follow for the most part, although I did have trouble understanding how to construct the back and fronk yokes. They are sewn together in a way that there no raw edges on the inside so I had the look up a tutorial on how to get this right. this post helped me get this step finished.

 

What do you Like or Dislike about the pattern?

I love the outcome of the fully lined front and back yokes even though it gave me such a headache I am glad I figured it out. I gives it a really cleanly finnished insdie

 Here are a few shots of the insides! 

 

Would You Sew it again? or reccomend it?

Yes I will be sewing up view A once I find the right fabric. I would only reccomend this pattern to and intermediate sewer or a VERY confident beginner. Be ready to do some headsctraching when looking at the diections for those front and back yokes. This pattern also suggests to make your own bias tape to finish the hem, but it doesn’t explain how to do that once the bias tape is made.

 

DSC_6619

DSC_6622

DSC_6625

As always thanks for reading!!

xx – Tai

Leave a Reply

